Government appoints José Mauro Ferreira Coelho to preside over Petrobras | Economy

The federal government announced this Wednesday (6) the nomination of the executive José Mauro Ferreira Coelho to preside over the Petrobras.

Ferreira Coelho has already worked for a year and a half as secretary of Petroleum, Natural Gas and Biofuels at the Ministry of Mines and Energy. For four years, he was director of the same area at the Energy Research Company (EPE), a state-owned company also linked to the ministry.

  • Who is José Mauro Ferreira Coelho, the new government nominee to command Petrobras

Also on Wednesday, the government announced that civil engineer Márcio Andrade Weber will be appointed to preside over the state-owned company’s Board of Directors. He is already a member of the oil company’s board.

To take effect, both nominations need to be confirmed by the annual general meeting of Petrobras. The next board meeting is expected to take place a week from now, on April 13.

The names were chosen by the government after economist Adriano Pires and businessman Rodolfo Landim – nominated in recent weeks to preside over Petrobras and the board of directors – informed that they could not take the positions.

This Wednesday morning, the Minister of Mines and Energy, Bento Albuquerque, had told the blog of journalist Ana Flor on g1 that the nominations would be formalized before the 13th.

Minister of Mines and Energy says Petrobras shareholders’ meeting will be on the 13th, with new names appointed by the government

With the recent refusals of Pires and Landim, there was a concern that the names would not reach the members of Petrobras’ general meeting in due time – which could hamper the investigation of possible conflicts of interest of the nominees.

In all, the federal government will nominate eight names to compose the Petrobras Board of Directors, including José Mauro Coelho. The list includes four current members that the government wants to reappoint to the council.

The Union controls the state-owned company and, therefore, can appoint the largest number of collegiate members. The board of directors currently has 11 members, the maximum number expected.

José Mauro Ferreira Coelho in audience at the Senate Environment Committee in October 2019 — Photo: Jefferson Rudy / Agência Senado

José Mauro Ferreira Coelho is currently chairman of the Board of Directors of Pré-Sal Petróleo (PPSA), the state-owned company responsible for negotiating the Union’s share of the pre-salt contracts.

He was secretary of Oil, Natural Gas and Biofuels at the Ministry of Mines and Energy, from April 2020 to October 2021. He left the position amid President Jair Bolsonaro’s announcement of aid to autonomous truck drivers to compensate for the increase in diesel.

The ministry denies that Coelho left due to disagreements with the project – which, at least so far, has not come to fruition.

Before working at the Ministry of Mines and Energy, he worked for 12 years at Empresa de Pesquisa Energética (EPE), the state-owned company responsible for planning the Brazilian electricity sector. He held several positions, the last being director of Oil, Gas and Biofuels Studies at EPE.

Altogether, he has more than 25 years of professional experience, working in the oil, natural gas and biofuels sectors. He also worked for several years in the undergraduate and graduate teaching field.

He holds a degree in Industrial Chemistry, a master’s degree in Materials Engineering from the Military Institute of Engineering (IME) and a PhD in Energy Planning from the Energy Planning Program (PPE) of the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ).

Appointed to head Petrobras’ board of directors, Márcio Andrade Weber is already a member of the state-owned company.

He joined Petrobras in 1976, where he worked for 16 years. He held various managerial and executive positions during the period.

Outside of Petrobas, he was a director at Petroserv between 2007 and 2020. The company operates in several areas of the oil industry, such as manufacturing deepwater drilling platforms.

He graduated in civil engineering from the Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (1975), with a specialization in petroleum engineering from Petrobras.

Leave a Comment